Borrowed

by Laura Findlay

bpost-borrowed

Dear Zoo,

My fiance sometimes pokes fun at me because I have no vices. I have a low caffeine tolerance so I’m restricted to drinking tea (which is okay because tea is ACE). One bottle of cider will see me putting on a Johnny Cash CD. I’ve never smoked. I’m opposed to gambling. And a wild Saturday night will see me tucked on the couch with a book and a crochet hook. But vices come in all shapes and sizes and if I did have one it would be books (decidedly more healthy but not necessarily better for my bank account). Conveniently I work as a librarian, so I get to borrow most of what I read. Here is a snapshot of what I carted home this week.

A Garden of Marvels: How We Discovered that Flowers have Sex, Leaves Eat Air, and Other Secrets of Plants. Ruth Kassinger

I go through bouts of reading nonfiction books about plants and animals (to use the technical terms). I’m actually just about finished reading the excellent ‘The Thing with Feathers’ by Noah Strycker and am looking forward to another book in this vein. I’ve read a few pages and I’m enjoying the narrative style.

Leonardo Da Vinci in 30 Seconds. Paul Harrison

Ha. Is this like Jamie’s so-called 30 minute meals that actually take HOURS to make but lure you in with promises of swift results? One of my favourite things, period, is children’s nonfiction. It’s whimsical, colourful, accessible and often very well-written and stuffed with knowledge. This book is all of those things and the layout is broken into easily navigated chapters and sections that each take a snapshot (the supposed 30 seconds) of Da Vinci’s life, looking at things like his early life, the Mona Lisa, and his other inventions. A great introduction to the man told in a modern and highly-readable way.

Tiny Creatures: The World of Microbes. Nicola Davies

More CL nonfiction. This book lives in the space between picture book and nonfiction. It has fewer words and takes us on a narrative journey of the microbe world. It’s well balanced in it’s facts and the wonderful illustrations contribute largely to the story. I’m pleased someone wrote a book about microbes.

frankie.

My library finally subscribed to frankie. There is something fantastic about frankie being borrowable and sharable – need I say more. I might be going on a bus ride tomorrow so it will be good t0 have frankie at my side.

I’m off to undo and recrochet half a scarf. Have a great Friyay!

Yours,

The borrower.

P.S I spent AGES arranging those books so nicely for the photo for this post. Don’t laugh, I truly did. I’m not destined to be a photographer.

